Latest News

Arizona Nationals Recap

CHANDLER, Ariz. (Feb. 25, 2013) - First round of funny car at the NHRA Arizona Nationals was filled with drivers on and off the throttle and tire smoke, but not for Tony Pedregon and Ron Capps.

The first pair out, the American Racing Wheels and DSR team drivers made solid runs for the fans at Firebird International Raceway. Pedregon was ahead until the eighth of a mile where Capps was just able to pass the hard charge of the American Racing funny car, clocking a 4.06 to Pedregon’s 4.09.

Pedregon posted his fastest run this season with a 4.09 at 299 mph, as well as the fastest reaction time of round one in funny car. Proving a tough opponent, Capps went on to win the race.

Despite the early loss, Pedregon was pleased with the progress of his American Racing car.

“I have to look at this race as progress,” Pedregon said. “In two races we have solved two major mechanical problems. Now we can go to the next event and focus on qualifying better on for Sunday.”

The two-time champ and his American Racing team have a few weeks to regroup before the 44th annual Amalie Oil NHRA Gatornationals at Auto-Plus Raceway in Gainesville, Fla., on March 14-17.


American Racing Drag Racer Tony Pedregon starts 2013 with a bang

POMONA, Calif. (Feb. 17, 2013) – Drag racer Tony Pedregon had a spectacular start to the 2013 season when his American Racing Funny Car exploded in flames during a qualifying run on Friday.

The driver was not injured, while the unbelievable force of the blast was captured by many trackside photographers and the image of the engulfed Funny Car quickly spread via social media. Read More


Tony Pedregon Kicks Off 2013 NHRA Season With American Racing Custom Wheels

BROWNSBURG, Ind. (Feb. 8,  2013) – Tony Pedregon Racing and American Racing Custom Wheels will once again partner for the 2013 for the Mello Yello NHRA Drag Racing Series beginning at the season opening Winternationals in Pomona, California.

The car, designed by Pedregon and designer Doug Sholty, features a gloss and flat black finish with gold leaf accents and bright red trim.

 “We have received a great response from fans who appreciate the inspiration and time that goes into the appearance the American Racing cars,” Pedregon said. “This design is driven by the passion and heritage of American Racing Wheels and the hot rodder mentality that fuels the car.”

American Racing will serve as the primary sponsor for Pedregon during the Pomona, Phoenix, Gainesville and Denver events.

“Our company’s very first wheels were built for drag racing back in the 1950s,” said American Racing Marketing Director Rhett Sander. “Our heritage and history are closely tied to drag racing and we’re pleased to continue this partnership in 2013.”

This year Tony Pedregon will enter a milestone 20th year of pro competition. Pedregon, who won the NHRA World Championship in 2003 and 2007, remains second on the list of all-time Funny Car winners.

About American Racing

American Racing is an iconic brand and a wheel industry leader in craftsmanship, engineering, innovation and performance. Founded in 1956 as a manufacturer of bespoke magnesium and aluminum racing wheels, its roots date back to the golden era of hot rodding. American Racing is a Wheel Pros brand. Wheel Pros products are sold worldwide in more than 20 countries on four continents and through a U.S. network of more than 25,000 authorized dealers. It is one of the world’s largest suppliers of branded custom wheels, performance tires and related accessories for cars, SUVs and light trucks.


Annual Andrea Pedregon Charity Foundation project transforms to yearbook

With the continued support of the NHRA as a whole, Andrea Pedregon Charity Foundation has produced calendars for the past two seasons highlighting several drivers and teams. However, after the last calendar expanded to 18 months, APCF focused on a new project: the uniquely created NHRA yearbook.

The yearbook, entitled Life’s A Drag, will ship before Christmas. Highlighted throughout the piece is behind the scenes access to drivers and their families. Every top ten driver in the pro classes is highlighted, and this year APCF, also known as ‘A Spark of Hope’ will showcase shots never seen before.

“Through the support of the NHRA fans, APCF has been able to impact more lives than I would have ever thought possible,” said Andrea Pedregon, founder and wife of two-time NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Champion Tony Pedregon. “Although I have changed it slightly for this year, I believe the yearbook will give NHRA fans the behind the scenes access to their favorite drivers they are really craving for.”

The NHRA calendars have proven to be a success thanks to the support of the NHRA fan base. Nearly $100,000 has been donated the past two seasons to charities such as the New Jersey Sharing Network, Girls Night In, Indiana University Cancer Center for use in children’s cancer research and Melanoma cancer research. This year’s yearbook raised funds are going to a new cause: prostate and colon cancer research.

“There are so many causes that need support, and I believe this is an important one,” said Pedregon. “This could impact many of our drivers and crews and it makes it vital that we try to find a cure for it.”

Life’s A Drag costs $25.00 plus shipping, and as always 100% of the proceeds go directly to the research. The People magazine style yearbook can be bought at, and at the Nitrofish trackside locations in the 2013 season. The yearbook makes a great gift for any NHRA fan, and a great keepsake on the last season of the NHRA Full Throttle Drag Racing series.

Drivers showcased in Life’s A Drag:

Top Fuel: Antron Brown, Tony Schumacher, Spencer Massey, Brandon Bernstein, Shawn Langdon, Doug Kalitta, Morgan Lucas, Bob Vandergriff, Steve Torrence, David Grubnic, Hillary Will, Larry Dixon, Funny Car: Jack Beckman, Ron Capps, Mike Neff, Cruz Pedregon, Courtney Force, Johnny Gray, Robert Hight, Tim Wilkerson, John Force, Jeff Arend, Matt Hagan, Bob Tasca, Tony Pedregon, Pro Stock Car: Allen Johnson, Jason Line, Vincent Nobile, Erica Enders, Greg Anderson, Mike Edwards, V Gaines, Ron Krisher, Jeg Coughlin, Larry Morgan, Shane Gray, Pro Stock Motorcycle: Eddie Krawiec, Andrew Hines, Hector Arana Jr., Hector Arana Sr., Karen Stoffer, Matt Smith, Angie Smith, Scotty Pollacheck Michael Ray Jr., Louis Tonglet Jr.

Order Now


Page 4 of 14


Download the Tony Pedregon App